Filters for LED lights

mwaldron

Enlightened
I was wondering if there was a reasonable source for colored filters for LED lights?

I've been enjoying my Surefire L2 for many months (just found CPF recently) and I almost always have the RED filter on it for night vision preservation. I also purchased a Blue one for Map reading, but it doesn't work nearly as well as Green light, and Surefire doesn't make Green filter so I was wondering if anyone else does?

Also, today I purchased a Fenix P2D Q5 (Can't wait to get it in) to replace my Surefire for EDC (the L2 is just too big for comfort in my pocket) and again I ordered a Red filter, but it appears Fenix-Store doesn't even carry Blue....

Any help help on finding filters?

I've always been fascinated with LEDs, and somehow never knew about CPF. Even without CPF I managed to get 2 Eternalights (1 of the first models they ever made in the Radio Shack project box....ahh the memories), Several 5-LED Coast models (Quad and Bi Color), a Couple photos (love them on keychain), a Surefire (my first 'expensive' light) and more More mag lites than I can find on any given day.
This forum is going to be bad for me. So many blinky lights! :D

Marduke

Flashaholic
FYI, filtering LED's is a very inefficient way to get red. LED's produce very little light in the red wavelength, meaning you're blocking a huge percentage of your output.

Blue filters are much more reasonable, as LED's have a lot in the blue wavelength.

A purpose-built colored LED would probably be what you want if you generally use just one color.

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
Sportsman's Warehouse had a 3 pack of the flip up style (red, blue, green), labeled as their brand for around $10 for all 3.

Unfortunately they fit bezels that are 1 1/4".

yaesumofo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just do a search for "lee filters" and "Roscoe filters".