1.2A Buck Regulator?

zambai

Newly Enlightened
I've been snooping on CPF for a couple of months now and this is my first post!

I want to mod one of my old D Mags. It will be an aspheric with a Cree XR-E R2 bin that I'd like to crank to 1.2 Amps. I'm thinking about using the 2D to 8AA adapter from the Sandwich Shoppe. That would mean I'd be running 12 volts into a buck converter and stepping it down to 3.9ish volts (at 1200mA). Now for the questions...

Question 1: Assuming a poor regulator efficiency of 85%, my current from the batteries wouldn't be more than .5 Amps, right?

Question 2: Will the AA's have a problem driving this load?

Question 3: I can't seem to find a buck regulator that can run the 1.2A to the single Cree (all I've found is a bunch of 1A units). Does anyone have any suggestions for this regulator?

Question 4: I've been looking for a long time for a D Mag heat sink that I can put the single Cree on (all I've found is triple/quad or more LED heat sinks with a big hole right where I want to place my single). Can someone point me in the right direction?

Whew! I apologize for the long post. Thanks in advance for your help!

-zambai

Gunner12

Flashaholic
1. At the voltage you are looking at, 85% would be average efficiency, I would use a lower number. With your numbers, yes, it would bea bit less then 500 mA from the battery.

2. At 500 mA draw, most AAs will sag to around 1.2v at 10 minutes. They will take the draw. Rechargeables will sag less but start at a slightly lower voltage. If you find a good buck driver, then it should be fine.

3. Well, some drivers you can change out one of the resistors to increase the current(Or add a variable resistance pot). Maybe start with a cheaper driver like this one and try swapping out the R2 resistor. Two drivers might also work(in parallel, this will depend on the driver, two of these drivers will work in parallel from what I have read).

4. Link.

:welcome:

zambai

Newly Enlightened