Noob advice

Garnett

Newly Enlightened
Before anyone starts reaching for the "Do a search" autoreply, hear me out, please!

I've only been here a couple of months, and already I have too many torches, and I'm coveting others. Reading the "Which lights would you NOT have bought" thread made me realise, I wish I knew then what I know now.

I'm sure I'm not alone in having jumped in and started buying torches before I really knew what I was looking for.

I came mainly interested in LED torches, and I've stayed that way so this is focused on them. I may be wrong,so please correct me. I've said a few things that are probably quite controversial but I've tried to simplify the situation as I understand it from the research I've done.

If I was a complete noob I'd want to know:

Torches can be great "throwers" which means they have a tight beam that is useful over a great distance, or the y can have a great flood which means they light up a broader area but not as far, or somewhere in between.
"Throwers" will often be too bright to use for lighting up near objects - eg when trying to read etc.

LEDs: There are many different types of "bin": Cree and Seoul are the most respected. The Cree Q5 is the best, having superceded the P4.

Batteries: I may well be wrong, but it is my understanding now (having bought a handful of expensive R(echargable)CR123s, that a torch which takes CR123s and 18650 batteries will run longer on the 18650 at the same brightness, and that a torch specifically designed for 18650s will run longer AND brighter than its CR123 counterpart. (Please correct me if this is wrong)

Coating: HAIII is the most popular coating and is very tough