My First Light - Controller?

TickTack

Newly Enlightened
Hey all.

I've been reading around here for a while and have decided to join up and ask a few questions of my own. I'm a mechanical engineering student with not too much knowledge of circuits, yet. Anyway, im looking to build my own light from the ground up. I've decided on the cree Q5 as my emitter:

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2394

My questions start here. I'd like to keep the light as cheap as possible (being my first and all). I'm trying to package this all in a pretty small light, but want some serious output. I'd like to use 123a batteries, or simply AA. Here are my questions, give these power options, what controllers should I look at. It sounds like with good heat sinking, I'll be able to run them at 1.0A. I looked at the buckpuck, but it seems to me that there are simpler, cheaper options if I don't need the modes.

2 AA batteries (for a total of 3.0V, correct?)

or

1 123a battery (3.0V)

I would also be open to the idea of using 2 123a batteries if that's better. I'd like to be able to match the output of a fenix T1 Tactical.

Thanks much, forgive my ignorance. I'll keep you updated on the progress, as I intend to design and manufacture the entire body.

Last edited:

paulr

Flashaholic
A 123a primary cell is 3.0 volts. There are 3.6v rechargeable cells that are a bit exotic and you might want to keep things simple at first.

If you're really trying to get the output of a T1 you should use two cells. Your main problem will be thermal management.

You might get a book like Horowitz and Hill's "Modern Art of Electronics" to learn some practical stuff about circuits. Maybe by now it should be called "Ancient art of electronics" since it's an older book, but it still explains the basics better than anything else I've seen.

TickTack

Newly Enlightened