Recommend me a 1AA EDC for <$60

tychoseven

Newly Enlightened
Hey everybody,

I'm new to this whole flashlight thing and I need some guidance. Assume I know nothing, because everything I know, I learned two hours ago.

I'm looking for a sturdy, compact EDC that runs on 1AA cell. I prefer AA because of its availability.
A holster that comes with the light is ideal, but a pocket clip will work as well.
I have no use for strobe or SOS functions and I would prefer a simple on/off or low/high/off switch. I don't want to click through five output levels every time I have to turn the light on and off.
I value runtime over output, so the brightest LED is not important.
Water resistant is a plus, but that seems to be standard.

So far I'm considering a Fenix L1D CE, LumaPower LM31, and Olight T15. Please comment on these lights or recommend me another. I'm willing to pay for quality, but the $30-$40 range is a real sweet spot for me. These are my initial thoughts:

The Fenix looks good, but it has all those output modes I don't need. Maybe there's a way to just turn it on and off at the same output every time?

The LumaPower looks like just the thing, and it has that nice "orange-peel" reflector. Only downside I can see is that it doesn't appear to have "digitally controlled" output.

The Olight appears to be a step up from the LumaPower, but like the Fenix it seems to have a bunch of output modes. Another upside to the LM31 is that the T15 is digitally controlled. However, it does not come with a holster, nor a pocket clip.

So which fits my needs the best? How important is "digitally controlled" output?

Thanks,
Tycho

Marduke

Flashaholic
the Fenix operates just like a 2-mode light. You never have to go through the modes if you don't want. It always comes on in either low or turbo, depending on if you have the head tightened.

You may also want to consider the L1T

Also, with any high power light, you'll want to use NiMH over alkaline

kilgor

Enlightened