Simple "Noob" MOD options for a 5 D Cell Maglite

Garnett

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to modding and would love to breath some new life into this old torch. I'd have to rate my modding skills at low-to-non-existent, so the simpler the better please. I want it to retain the robustness that appealed in the first place.

JamisonM

Enlightened
The easiest mod I can think if is a simple bulb replacement. There's a whole host of drop-ins out there that range from dim and long running to bright with only a few hours of runtime. Just do a bit a searching and find what you're looking for.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Mod wise:

Buck driver + heatsink + Seoul P4(along with wires, solder and some sort of thermal compound).

LED drop-ins are also an option. Along with high power Incan mods.

wildstar87

Enlightened
You didn't mention what your price range is..

The Terralux TLE-6EX works out pretty well, probably the most bang for the buck in brightness at around $25, it just replaces the bulb, but gets hot if run for any length of time, since it screws down to the same spot as the normal bulb. There are a lot of threads on this, just do a search.

Then there is there are the highly rated Malkoff Drop-ins (www.malkoffdevices.com), which drop in, but actually heatsink to the body and have a very effective driver. They are also more expensive starting at $75

Terralux also makes a 3 LED drop-in, TLE-300 which is also more expensive at around $99.

There are a LOT more if you search the threads, but those don't require any MODding of the light, just remove the light and drop in.

The others do require you to get parts (heatsinks, leds, resistors/drivers) and solder them together, though not terribly difficult.

Garnett

Newly Enlightened
Goona bump this. Saw a Mag85 recipe using a 5D maglite host:
-UCL Lens
-Camless Medium stippled reflector (.377 hole)
-Modified Switch for less resistance
-9 x 4/5 sub C 2200mAH battery pack
-PVC sch. 40 battery tube spacer