Convince me not to buy a Proton

AlexSchira

Enlightened
I've been EDCing a Photon on my neck for a couple years now, the interface is the greatest I've ever had in a light or tool. I switch off between different colors for different jobs, often bringing two just in case. I love the ReX, been awkwardly neck-carrying it for a while and like the high output with the Freedom interface. The Proton Pro...I have yet to buy anything with Cree, but this thing has every feature I used to wish for in a light. The lumen count is higher than my trusty old Surefire E2E in an unbreakable LED. It has that wonderful red mode for general use and power saving. All the modes and tricks, the great clip, even glows in the dark.
I used to argue my Surefire was HA-3, there's no contest.
...Turns out so is the Proton. And it even runs on the single most common battery around.

I have one sitting in my order cart on a site selling it on sale, but keep telling myself I don't need another light with my E2E and my Photons. But this would replace both of them at once, while adding features and subtracting weight and hassle.

Is there anything wrong with this darned thing? I feel like if I chucked it in anger a parachute would deploy and spray air freshener as it descends, it's too dang perfect.

Hitthespot

Flashlight Enthusiast
It's a great Light. I thought I would be sorry I bought it. Not so. Smallest AA light that packs a wallop I ever seen.

Bill

Saiga

Enlightened
(quote) " Convince me not to buy a Proton"

Do not buy a proton, I repeat...DO NOT BUY A PROTON !!!!!!
how'd i do ?:crackup:

light_emitting_dude

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ahh.....the classic "I don't need another light but want one anyway and I am feeling guilty". I know the feeling. :laughing:

Personally, I am waiting until shot show to see what comes out. Buy a light now and when you see all of the new lights at shot show you may wish you would have waited.

regulator

Flashlight Enthusiast