Nitecore DI low voltage question

mapper66

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to Li-ion rechargeables, and I'm running an AW protected 14500 in my DI. I get the low voltage flash at about 3.45 volts by my multimeter. Does that sound about right? I'm going to do some runtime tests, but thought I'd ask those who have used these before. Thanks!

Wattnot

Enlightened
At what voltage is the flash supposed to occur? I imagine you are getting the flash, pulling the battery then measuring?

The problem with that is the voltage will drop "under load" (meaning when the light is LIT). Another problem is that a battery will "recover" a little bit after the load is removed, further raising the voltage. You can see this if you run your electric toothbrush or razer down until it is totally dead, then wait a few seconds and try it.

So . . . all of that being said, the voltage is probably under 3 volts (or at whatever voltage the warning triggers) and when you pull and measure, there is no load and it's recovering too, so it's rising to the 3.45 for your measurment.

nanotech17

Flashlight Enthusiast
At what voltage is the flash supposed to occur? I imagine you are getting the flash, pulling the battery then measuring?

The problem with that is the voltage will drop "under load" (meaning when the light is LIT). Another problem is that a battery will "recover" a little bit after the load is removed, further raising the voltage.

Not with AW cells.
Others maybe.

Tubor

Enlightened