9P/G3 vs. 6PLED/G2LED/G3LED?

Justboy

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I am just starting out and trying to buy a basic SureFire flashlight as a starting point and to see if I get addicted to better and better lights! I've only owned mini-MagLite type things before, but I'm pretty demanding so I want to be impressed by a decent light. I've never actually seen anything better than a MagLite in the flesh so I don't really know what I'm dealing with. Anyway a lot of people on here seem very helpful so I thought I'd try asking a question and see if I can figure this out :twothumbs

I don't know whether I want a 9P incandescent or an LED equivalent? As far as I can tell the 9P is 105 lumens but doesn't last too long, whereas the LED version say... the G3LED is 80 lumens and lasts 10 hours on the same batteries. I was wondering whether I would notice the difference between the two lights in brightness? If I saw a 9P in action would I regret having bought a 6PLED or G3LED? Would I miss those 25 lumens? I'm not really using the light for anything serious it's just for finding things in the dark, walking at night type purposes but I crave power haha. Otherwise I would just stick to the AA mini-Mag. Also my budget will only stretch to like $90, not ready to invest in the L2/L5 yet!

And if I should buy an LED light, which one should I go for? That's a really confusing part since the one with 3 123A's (G3LED) seems to have less runtime than the ones with 2 123A's (6PLED/G2LED)!! What's going on??

Can anyone help me make sense of this??

Thanks

jbviau

Enlightened
On that last point, you might take a look at this thread testing output/runtimes for the G2L/6PL:

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/176621

You will definitely get much longer runtime at full power before the output starts to decline with three 123As as opposed to 2. Don't let the advertised claims confuse you, as these often include declining output in the total runtime.