Ultrafire C3 Q5 vs. Ultrafire C3 P4 (5-mode)

phreeflow

Newly Enlightened
Hi All,

I'm a flashlight Noob and have been lurking on CPF for around 5 months and am shocked at the amount of knowledge this community has :eek:. I've learned more than I could have imagined about flashlights and like many of you, my wife now thinks I need professional help...:poke:

I've ordered number of lights from DX and my favorite is the Ultrafire C3 5-mode with the P4 Cree LED. I'm looking to get one for a friend but he wants the best and brightest (don't we all :whistle:) so I'm looking to the advice of CPF'ers so I don't get him the wrong light.

He loves the C3 5-mode P4 but I'm thinking that he would like the latest Q5 C3 since the CREE Q5 SHOULD be brighter. He really doesn't care about the modes/runtime (I've read about the shorter runtime on the Q5 C3 on another post)...he just wants the brightest in the C3 form factor. :D

Does anyone own both lights and can comment on whether the single mode Q5 C3 is brighter than the P4 5-mode C3 on high??? :shrug:

Thanks in advance!!!

Last edited:

dulridge

Enlightened
Given that the maximum difference is probably less than 15% and you will not notice less than 50% difference unless the two lights are side-by-side, I'd really not care about the difference.

bessiebenny

Enlightened
1-mode UF C3 P4 lasts ~4 hours with 2AA.
5-mode UF C3 P4 lasts ~2 hours with 2AA.
1-mode UF C3 Q5 lasts ~2 hours with 2AA. (according to takebeat)
(takebeat used 2 x 1300mAh AA batteries to get 50 minues with 2AA)

Mine is on its way (according to DX, it has been shipped last week).
So I will let you know more about it when I get it. (Within 2 weeks?)

Last edited:

phreeflow

Newly Enlightened
Given that the maximum difference is probably less than 15% and you will not notice less than 50% difference unless the two lights are side-by-side, I'd really not care about the difference.