Ever Use A Self-Defense Spray?

BruiseLee

Enlightened
I just ordered some Fox Labs pepper spray, and was wondering what kind of experiences people have had with sprays. You know Mace, OC, CS, CN, etc.

I have a LEO friend who has 3 occassions to use a spray, and he said it didn't work for him in a single instance. I think he was using S&W MK6, but I'm not sure.

In all three cases the BG's were either drugged up or had histories of mental illness.

Bruise

Ross

Enlightened
I've used CS spray on a 6'3" ex boxer who wanted to hurt me (I'm a police officer in Edinburgh, Scotland) and it worked a treat! dropped him to the floor instantly. We only have access to CS in the UK but, to the best of my knowledge, it has worked most times so far. OC works on dogs as well (CS doesnt) which is why I think we should have access to it as well, but we dont.

Ross

Ross

Enlightened
Just thought I should mention that I am susceptable to CS as well (we have to be sprayed with it during our training) and, while I did get a blast myself (just spray that comes off the sprayed person), you can generally deal with it. Dont forget that once you;ve sprayed the person, you have to get right up close to them to restrain them / take the knife off them etc etc

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast
Bowser, actually if you're not an LEO all you have to do is RUN! Hopefully in the direction away from the sprayee.

Probably better to just plan to do that since they can recover rather quickly when they realize that you haven't actually done them any damage.

SilverFox

Flashaholic
Hello BruiseLee,

The biggest complaint I have heard about the various pepper sprays is that the results from using them is inconsistent. Sometimes it will work great, and other times it just makes the other person mad.

I like James's reply. If you can find a way to leave the conflict quickly, take it.