Why Does Surefire Drag Its Feet on Next-Gen LED'S?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bringsteen

Newly Enlightened
I don't understand it. I can buy any number of other lights with the latest LED emitters, but Surefire seems to be more than a year behind the curve. Why is this? I want to get a Surefire, but I don't want something that is top-notch quality, with last year's technology.

mspeterson

Enlightened
I don't understand it.

You are correct! With a little searching you will find that your assumptions are false, thus freeing you up to buy that Surefire you want! Congrats and may I suggest the Surefire Backup!!!!:D:party::party::party:

Bringsteen

Newly Enlightened
Did I just experience being a newbie getting kicked in the face by a veteran? Don't get me wrong, I am a Veteran; I am just relatively new to the LED scene.

Thanks anyway, I guess.

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think he meant that SureFire is using current LED technology and has been since mid 2007. I don't see any other companies using SSC P7s right now. To add on to that, SureFire takes a long time to develop a light, plain and simple, and many of those time restrictions come from having a military contract; something SureFire isn't going to give up any time soon.

DaFABRICATA

Flashlight Enthusiast
SF isn't a manufacturer that NEEDS to have the best "Flavor of the week" like other companies do, to make money. They take time on R&D and designing a light that will be free of problems. Their products are Top Notch and remain on top of the game by developing product that can be counted on.
Most "consumers" generally do not care what Brand/Model/Bin the flashlight has as long as its bright!
We are a minority here when it comes to the details of our lights. General flashlight users just want it to work and be bright.

Gunner12

Flashaholic