Spill? Spot to Flood?

BOBBYBOB

Newly Enlightened
I'm a total novice, I have a Fenix P2D and I don't like the circle of light
around the hot spot, at long distance it illuminates more than I want.
Please recommend a light with 200 or so Lumens not more than 4 or 5
inches long that has a tighter focus point. Money no object, my wife has
a great job. Thank you for the info

optodoofus

Newly Enlightened
It sounds like any light with good throw should meet your requirements. A light achieves good throw by concentrating the output into a tight beam that will travel long distances. That's pretty much what you're looking for.

If money is no object, you can buy a Surefire 6P and then a BOG Q5 super-premium drop-in. The drop-in is very bright and has great throw. I have a set-up like that and really like it. It doesn't throw like my Ultrastinger, but it fits in my pocket (which is something the US can't do unless I get much bigger pockets!)

Another good option would be the Lumapower D mini. I don't have one, but there is a good review with beamshots at http://candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?t=180243&highlight=mini

Good luck and let us know what you end up with.

optodoofus

enLIGHTenment

Enlightened
I'm a total novice, I have a Fenix P2D and I don't like the circle of light around the hot spot, at long distance it illuminates more than I want.

Very bright, very ugly, spill is inherent in lights that use forward facing LEDs mounted in reflectors. What you need is a light which has the LED pointing rearwards or uses a refractive optic. There aren't many choices here, period, much less choices that meet your brightness and size requirements.