My first flashlight! Need help:)

super

Newly Enlightened
Hello!

Iam new on this forum.

First, i want to excuse for my english, i hope everybody will undestand my words:).

So, i want to buy a flashlight for me! I really prefer a Surefire. I live in germany and the SR flashlight like the 6P LED cost 99 euro here (~145 USD). SF has a great opinion so i want to buy some of americas quality.

I want a small torch.. it should be usefull for hiking (night) and give me a bright light for some hours!

It should have two Preferences.. like one for example just for changing a tire in a car and like i mentioned before.. for hiking.

I thought about some modells:

The E1B Backup
E1L
6p LED (11 hours 80 lumens..) DO u really get full 11 hours of power with 80 lumens??

The question for me is.. how many meters is 5 lumens? Or what means 5 lumens in which situation? Cause i also like the E1E although it has only 15 lumens!?

PLease help, iam a total newbie... i will decide on your feedback:)
Give me your personal opinions plz!

Thank you

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, super. Your English is fine. Much better than my Deutsch. Surefire's are very good lights. I can highly recommend the L1. It has two levels of brightness and is rated very conservatively. You should also look at the Fenix lights. The L2Dce will give a long runtime and has 4 levels, strobe, SOS, and runs on cheaper AA batteries. It's not as tough as Surefires, but is about half the price. If you want a small AAA light the Fenix L0Dce may still be the best.

Have fun picking your new light(s).

Geoff

schiesz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lumens is a measure of total light output. It does not equate to meters in any way.

For the 6PL, there is a runtime graph here, and it shows that you get close to 80 lumens for 3 hours, then it gradually decreases until it dies around 11-12 hours.

If you are after the smaller size, check out the E1L or E1B. If you want the easy upgradability, go for the 6PL.

schiesz