Quad Cree 2d Mag...w/pics

magmodmike

Newly Enlightened
Hello
Long time reader but this is my first time posting.
This is one of my first major mods that I have attempted. I know this mod has been done many times already but it's posts like these that got me started in modding.

Mod is in a 2d maglite, most parts were purchaced from the sandwich shoppe including...
  • perfect tri/quad cree heatsink $19
  • McR-19xr reflectors $15x4
  • cree P4 emitters $10x4
  • 2d to 8aa battery holder $18
  • Shark Step up converter $20
  • remora UI board $ 9
  • Total $166
There are many way to make this mod cheaper to build. One way is by purchasing the reflectors, leds, & converter boards from a website like DealExtreme. You can also read up on posts from other members on how to make your own battery holder.

The shark provides a low, medium, high & SOS modes. Low mode appears to be about the same brightness of my fexin l2d ce (135ish lumens) and the light doesn't even get warm. The light gets warm on medium but could be left on through the entire battery life. High can only be left on a couple minutes until the light seems to get a little too hot. Considering that the leds are using about 16 watts that this is pretty normal.

I used a brake cylinder hone from Advance Auto Parts (12-$14) to bore out the flashlight tube. Thanks to the other members for the suggestion, it really saved some time. It still does take awhile to do but the drill does most of the work:naughty:. Sure would be nice to own a lathe. I'm not sure if its easier but one other way I've seen done is by using a long round file. Create 4 semi-circle notches inside the tube for the batteries to seat into.

Later down the road I will upgrade the cree P4's to the new R2's and also a better lens to replace the stock one.