Possible MiniMag mod?

wildstar87

Enlightened
So even though I am currently spec'ing out a Quad Led M*g build, I started thinking about another project. (Does the MADNESS EVER STOP??!!)

I currently have a MiniMag with a Terralux TLE-5EX the Cree version. It's nice, but I was thinking of brighter (aren't we always?).

I also recently saw this 14mm "star" Cree Q5 at DX
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.11023

I have no experiences with making a sandwich/sammie, and a lot of the links for them seem to be broken in the MiniMag modding thread. Though after looking further at the stuff on Sandwich Shoppe, and doing some measuring, I think I figured out how to do a sammie with an SSC and a BadBoy, but I digress..

I know the Cree was not really able to be effectively used for the MiniMag sammies because of the size of the package being to big to fit through the 10mm top hole of the MiniMag.

But I'm thinking that you could mount this Q5 star on top of the hole instead, like the Terralux drop in, but in this case I would AA Epoxy to the body in order to heatsink the star to the body. This could be wired to a Badboy or whatever driver, though I would have to make some sort of "dummy" sammie for underneath to take up the same space as the normal switch module, with the driver at the bottom.

Whaddya think? I'm also not sure what I could use for optics, because I know the standard MiniMag reflector even bored out, doesn't work to hot with the Cree (tried it with the TLE-5EX).

Maybe I'm bringing up ancient history, but I just thought, hey that Ultrafire WF-606A looks a lot like a MiniMag, why can't I just put a driver and LED on the thing? I know, it probably end up costing more, but at least I know what is driving it, and build quality, and I think I could get it brighter than it.. :whistle:

Last edited:

Cydonia

Enlightened