Maglite withdrawal

Irishsentry

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys. Newbie here...I never knew there was so much to flashlights! I always put batteries in and used them...part of my trade.

I am noticing a big shift away from large duty lights down to the small 2x123a stuff. I like them...I am addicted to them....I have one currently on order.

I prefer a good light that uses AA batteries or C or D cell. I was trained back in the old days when I was very young and if you had a mini mag and a d cell maglite you were set. You sometimes had to get quite rough with crack heads or drunks and just the sight of the mag would quiet them down.

I need moderate to bright with an emphasis on burn time....what mods can I make? I would like a textured reflector and a push button tailcap plus LED for the min mag and a good LED conversion for my 3 D cell mag.

They dont get used a lot now, but if I am going to a rough area I will still take them along. They have been good lights and deserve to be highly upgraded. Thanks

MikeSalt

Flashlight Enthusiast
The absolute best upgrade for a D-cell Maglite is something called a 'Malkoff Device'. It replaces the whole bulb and switch tower with a jolly big heatsink and a Seoul LED perfectly driven to the tune of 240 lumens. Very rare and diffcult to get though.

A more achievable option is a Terralux upgrade, available here. For the reflector, there is none to match the quality of that by FiveMega[url].

Irishsentry

Newly Enlightened
Thanks mate....that bloody light and I have been through a lot together and I would just like to carry it once in awhile for old time's sake.

Who makes the best parts for the mini mag?

Jimmy H

Newly Enlightened
You can easily drop in Maglite's own drop in LED upgrade in that 3D. I have done that to both my 2D and my 3D. Work just fine and could not be easier.

That will hold you until you read more here and find the "ultimate" that you absolutely, positively must have...