Imalent        
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

  1. #1

    Default SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Hi all,

    So I have decided that it is time for my next flashlight purchase and the new E2L dual output is the candidate.
    However, there are a couple things pertaining to the new dual output heads that bug me, that I hope you guys can help answer:

    1. what are the voltages rating for the KX1 and KX2 heads (KX1 is on the new E1L, KX2 is on the new E2L). More specifically, can I run either KX1 or KX2 from single liion rechargeable with typical voltage 3.7V? I heard that these new heads are specifically designed with 3V and 6V input voltage, respectively, in mind.

    2. How does the beamshot of the head look like? I have seen the 3rd generation tight beam of KL1, and the older first generation KL1, but I believe I have not seen the beam of these new heads. I am not sure how these new dual output heads compared to the previous single output heads within the same generation. please post any beamshot that you may have.

    3. I believe the switching are all done within the head. if so, the heads can use any of the SF E series compatible body and switches. Can anyone confirm this?

    Thank you for the help

  2. #2
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    SE Wisconsin
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Hello,

    Well, I can answer #2 and #3 for you, as I recently received two SF KX2s for upgrading my older incan HA-BK E2Es.

    #2 - Beam is very ringy and unevenly centered on mine, with a blob of something on the outer perimeter of beam - reflector also has a scuff mark in it. I dunno what the blob is caused by (not the scuff mark), but it detracts from the whole beam in general. On this particular KX2, the beam is very white and bright (sorry, I have no way of uploading any images or measuring the brightness); the other one has a very nice and smooth beam, but it's GREEN and much dimmer than the first one. Go figure. At any rate, I'm not very impressed with SF's new dual output heads and am going to stick with the single output ones instead - if they're still sold by any dealers.

    #3 - Yes, the KX1/KX2 Dual Output Heads are for use with any of the E Series and the switching is done in the head by a soft press on the switch after initially turning it on.

    Hope I've been of some help in answering your questions. To sum it up, I'd keep the current single output head rather than buying the new dual output ones. It's a lottery in my opinion, like a box of chocolates: 'you never know WHAT your going to get'!

    Regards, Jackie
    Surefire, LumaPower, KelLite, Ultrafire, EagleTac, LiteFlux, Olight, Streamlight, ThruNite, Pelican, Sunwayman, JetBeam, Fenix, Photons Intn'l, Muyshondt, Photon, River Rock, M@g85, M@g 2C X 3-123.

  3. #3
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    SE Wisconsin
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Hello,

    Sorry, double post!

    Well, I can answer #2 and #3 for you, as I recently received two SF KX2s for upgrading my older incan HA-BK E2Es.

    #2 - Beam is very ringy and unevenly centered on mine, with a blob of something on the outer perimeter of beam - reflector also has a scuff mark in it. I dunno what the blob is caused by (not the scuff mark), but it detracts from the whole beam in general. On this particular KX2, the beam is very white and bright (sorry, I have no way of uploading any images or measuring the brightness); the other one has a very nice and smooth beam, but it's GREEN and much dimmer than the first one. Go figure. At any rate, I'm not very impressed with SF's new dual output heads and am going to stick with the single output ones instead - if they're still sold by any dealers.

    #3 - Yes, the KX1/KX2 Dual Output Heads are for use with any of the E Series and the switching is done in the head by a soft press on the switch after initially turning it on.

    Hope I've been of some help in answering your questions. To sum it up, I'd keep the current single output head rather than buying the new dual output ones. It's a lottery in my opinion, like a box of chocolates: 'you never know WHAT your going to get'!

    Regards, Jackie
    Last edited by PhotoGal; 03-16-2008 at 05:12 AM. Reason: sorry - double post
    Surefire, LumaPower, KelLite, Ultrafire, EagleTac, LiteFlux, Olight, Streamlight, ThruNite, Pelican, Sunwayman, JetBeam, Fenix, Photons Intn'l, Muyshondt, Photon, River Rock, M@g85, M@g 2C X 3-123.

  4. #4
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    435

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    I have the E1B backup which I like a lot. The only problem I have is using rechargeables. If I use a 3.7 the light pulses on high, if I use a 3.0 rechargeable is pulses on low beam. It doesn't pulse using regular non rechargeable 3.0 surefires.
    Don't know how it is with the E1L and E2L but that is how it is with E1B.

  5. #5
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    eu/at
    Posts
    770

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    In theory:
    KX1: Boost circuit, can take anything BELOW the leds Vf (aprox. 3.7V, likely less)
    KX2: Buck circuit, anything ABOVE of the leds Vf up to 6V (bellow Vf out of regulation)

  6. #6

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Thanks for the reply guys.

    Photogal,


    I have seen KX's head beamshot from another thread and it doesn't look like it is THAT ringy. I can sure see a dark ring, but it is not all that bad. Is it possible that you lost the lottery?


    Dadof6,

    That is weird. The E1B uses SF123 battery (3.0V), why would it pulses on low?
    Can you describe the pulsing? is it flickering or is it blinking? This is bad news to me as I want to use rechargeable to power my new light


    BBL,

    I see they (the new heads) are no longer using the system like the first gen 1 KL1, where you can feed one with 2.7 V up to 9V of input. Bummer.

    If KX2 is a buck, that means IF someone win the lottery and got a very low Vf LED inside the head, he would be able to run the head's both low and high output as usual. Can anyone confirm this?
    If this is the case, then one can just do a LED transplant on the head and then able to use it using rechargeable.

  7. #7
    Flashaholic* ttran97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,212

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Dadof6...you can do what I suggested in another thread and put the KX2-BK head on the E1B and that will gladly accept RCR123 3.7 volts. Thread

    shiftd...it would pulse on low because 3.0 volts in the rechargeables is really more like 3.0-something when it's fresh off the charger...I can't remember exactly. So this causes the light to be over driven and makes it brighter, but then the circuitry will kick in and try to restrict it from being too bright, thus the pulsing. It will be like a slow strobe of high-low-high-low...etc.

    Some people have tried using rechargeable 3.0 v by running it on high for a few minutes to take off some of the charge...and then it'll run like normal afterwards.

    You could also put the KX2 head on the E1e body...and run that with the 3.7 v rechargeables. Just don't put the KX1 head on the E2e body...

    Runtime with the RCR123 3.7 v and KX2 head is roughly 30 minutes regulated and 80 minutes to 50% brightness.

    KX2-BK on E1e-BK body with reverse clip from E1B:
    Last edited by ttran97; 03-17-2008 at 10:38 PM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    ttran97, this is good news

    Thank you for the idea. I am gonna get the new E2L and feed it with 17670

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* ttran97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,212

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Quote Originally Posted by shiftd View Post
    ttran97, this is good news

    Thank you for the idea. I am gonna get the new E2L and feed it with 17670
    A friend of mine runs two RCR123s 3.7v in his new E2L...but I think that's driving the LED a little hard...but it works and it's a lot brighter. So if you wanna gamble a bit...

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    11,669

    Default Re: SF's KX1 & KX2 dual output questions ???

    Quote Originally Posted by ttran97 View Post
    A friend of mine runs two RCR123s 3.7v in his new E2L...but I think that's driving the LED a little hard...but it works and it's a lot brighter. So if you wanna gamble a bit...
    Nine volts should be no problem with the KX2's buck constant current regulated circuit. It should not overdrive it.

    Bill

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •