Newbie comment on the L1 & L2

Centropolis

Enlightened
I am a newbie in the flashlights world and I have been looking at Surefire's website for specs on a number of lights. I have a question regarding the L1 and L2.

After reading the specs, I am not sure the purpose for SF to come out with these flashlights. The L1 and L2 both have two levels of output just like the E1L and the E2L. The L1 and L2 are more powerful but at considerable less runtime. If someone who is looking to buy his/her first SF, I don't see any reason why he/she would go for the L1/L2 instead of the E1L /E2L. Maybe for collecting reasons? J

If someone was to buy just ONE general purpose SF flashlight, wouldn't you recommend the E1L/E2L? Or something else like the G2LED?

Patriot

Flashaholic
It's just the age old battle of run-time vs output. People who favor maximum output will likely choose the L1. The L2 is the older and much less efficient LuxV emitter and isn't a very good comparison to any of the newest generation LEDs.

As you said said the E1L and E2L are great general purpose, 'do anything and everything,' lights for those who don't mind sacrificing a few lumens at max output.

parnass

Flashlight Enthusiast
The beam geometry of the L2 differs from the L1, E1L, and E2L. The L2 is floody and has less throw so it is good for lighting up a room.

The others are better for outdoor use because they are essentially spotlights instead of floodlights and permit you to illuminate objects further away with their narrow beam.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
E1L and E2L have more runtime and enough output for most tasks.

The L1 has more output but low is too high for some.

The L2 uses a Luxeon V(unknown Bin) with a reflector instead of a Cree XR-E(unknown Bin) with a optic. The L2 has a wide floody hotspot. The others have a tighter beam with less spill.

The E1B might also be a choice.

One question though, does it have to be a Surefire?

:welcome:

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast