Budget Brands - Reliability and Performance

Centropolis

Enlightened
I am just getting into the flashlight community very recently. Before this site, I've only known brands like Surefire and Inova that makes tactical flashlights. After reading many posts in this forum, I've found out that there are many other brands that are out there that makes tactical LED flashlights.

I want to ask, out of all the relatively cheaper brands....and by that I mean, cheaper than Fenix...like Ultrafire, Romisen and DX etc....which are the brands that a lot of people have experience with and are proven to be very reliable and have comparable performance compared to a Fenix or Surefire?

Also, if I was looking for a LED flashlight that is run off 1AA or 2AAs, and has good enough throw AND relatively more spill than say a L1 or a G2L.....what ones should I take a look at? If they are running AAs, I don't care too much about runtime as much as output since they're cheap. Think walking around the campsites and hiking in trails at night.

I guess I am looking for a decent light for about $30 to $40 that performs kind of ALMOST like a $100 light?

Last edited:

Evan III

Newly Enlightened
I really like the romisen lights, they are really well made and seem to be very reliable, can't really comment on the others. I have heard they are pretty hit or miss. Personally My Romisen RC-F4 (runs on 123's) is brighter then my 50-60 dollar Olight T-20 (160 lumen model). and they only run about 15 bucks. Ask and read around you'll find alot of people really like this light. I have a single AA romisen (cant remember which model off hand) also that is very bright for a single AA light.

greenpea76

Newly Enlightened