Need Advice/Suggestions for Malkoff Quad Drop in for Maglite

mazingerz9

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

My name's Steven and this is my first post in the forums. I'm still new to flashlight mods and upgrades and hope to learn and turn it into a hobby.

Well let's get straight to the point, I'm willing to spend around $300 bucks for an LED upgrade.

I just bought a MagCharger and thought about purchasing the TLE-300MR ($85-99)for it but may be returning it, if you guys think the following is a viable LED to purchase.

I was looking in the forum and someone mention the Quad Drop-in for Maglite 4-6D flashlights.
Link - http://www.malkoffdevices.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_15&products_id=24

It's for $250 and though it's a bit expensive, my desire to have something this bright has made me save enough money on the side (goodbye Wii) and thinking of buying this upgrade. Though WA blubs are very inexpensive, my preference light source is from a LED.

I need your guys thoughts on this and if most people think it's a good option. If so, I might be returning the MagCharger and buy a 6D Maglite then order the Quad Drop-In from Malkoff.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Steven

jufam44

Enlightened
Steven,
:welcome:

Gene Malkoff's products are somewhat legendary around CPF, but they're very difficult to obtain. You really have to buy right when you see they're available, as usually they're gone within hours of being offered at malkoffdevices. You can always run NIMH batteries in a 4D to get the required voltage level, and that way it will be a little smaller (6D is huge, if you've never held one). You won't be dissapointed in the Malkoff dropin, and Gene's great with Customer service. If you've got the money, I'd say go for it. It's a great product, and if you don't end up liking it you can always sell in B/S/T for it's value and recoop your earnings.

I hope this helps!
-Max

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast