Help me Understand Why SureFire are so Expensive

Status
Not open for further replies.

xcel730

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hello all,

Before I start, I just want to say that I am not bashing SureFire flashlights in any way. I'm new to this whole new flashlight world, and I currently don't own any SF, so I'm not even eligible to bash them. I just have an insatiable curiosity.

If someone could explain to me why SF flashlights are much more expensive than the competitors, even if "on paper" their performance seem to be worst. An example is the SF E2L model with 3/80 lumens cost about $129, while Fenix P3D Premium Q5 with 200 lumens cost about $68. I understand that the lumen rating from SF is from out the front while many other flashlight manufacturers lumen rating is from the emitter, and I understand that SF flashlights are built better, but does that factors in for twice the price? Is it simply because they do a darn good marketing job? Is it because of status symbol for those who own one? Again, if the reason is purely because of status symbol, I'm fine with that too. I, myself, own a couple of luxury watches that tells time no better than the watch that comes with your happy meal. Any insight would be helpful. Thanks guys!

swxb12

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well for starters, it costs more to make a light in the US. I won't go into the performance aspect, though.

greenstuffs

Banned
One is cheaply made without any creative design in a lowtech shop and the other is created in one of the country's best cnc facilities.
Your eyes can't really tell the difference between 80 Surefire lumens than the 160 chinese lumens because one is out the front and the other is at the emitter without taking into consideration the loss at the reflector, lense, heat.
Other than that like high end knives you will have to handle them to understand the value.

MrGman

Flashlight Enthusiast