some strange thoughts on the quality of light

keithhr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm new to all of this but was comparing light beams of my new E1E-HA. ARC LSH, and Inova X5 and noticed that although the E1E gave off more light , there was something more compelling or transpatent in the beam of the ARC and even the Inova. The ARC beam although with not much of a hot spot gave off more of coldly illuminating light, maybe the surefire tighter hot spot with not much else didn't appeal to me as much because it seemed like a lot less around it was revealed. Maybe I'll have to buy an ultra stinger just to aquaint myself with the potential of a brighter incandescent. I was surprised that just brightness alone wasn't enough and I wanted more of something else. I was puzzled because I mostly read about hot spots and technical features of lights but not much about the quality and nature of the light itself. Maybe I'm going down some dark road by addressing this, but am I alone ?, I think not, please help me by telling me what is it about light and the nature of the various types of lights that you enjoy that you find seductive. I was involved in high end audio for quite some time and a lof of the "audiophiles" simply like the equipment but some liked the music. It seems like this comparison might be valid, some flashaholics might like the various technologies involved in making light and some people may be attracted to various types of lights. Can someone please help and describe what it is about light that you find appealing.

Ginseng

Flashlight Enthusiast