Mini Maglite LED 3 Cell AA upgrade question...

Swagg

Enlightened
Hey guys, I'm new to CPF and I totally love this place. I'm quickly becoming a flashaholic which seems abit crazy.
Anyway, I just purchased a Mini Maglite LED 3 Cell AA and was wandering if there are any upgrades that can be done to this light? Anything would be great, lights, power, lense, reflector or even bezel. Everybody in my office uses Surefire which is an awesome light but I think it would be fun to have a good ol' Mag give them a run for the money. I've searched through here and I've found upgrades that I will do to my Mini Mag AA(TerraLUX TLE-5EX) and also my 3D Mag(will buy upgrade from Malkoff) but what about the 3 cell AA? Anything will help.

Thanks

Gunner12

Flashaholic
You could do a Seoul mod for your 3 AA Minimag. At least double the output with the same runtime. Should give some of those Surefires a run for their money(output wise).

:welcome:

Swagg

Enlightened
Where is the best place to get that and is it a drop in or a complex install? I'm new but I am a quick learner...so the easier the better at first.

Thanks

Swagg

Enlightened
Where is the best place to get that and is it a drop in or a complex install? I'm new but I am a quick learner...so the easier the better at first.

Thanks

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Well, it's a LED swap.

You'll have to remove the Luxeon III(last gen) and solder in a Seoul P4 U-bin(current gen). Many different sources for the Seoul, the cheapest is here but it takes a while to ship, 2 weeks to a month.

If you're good at soldering and have thermal compound, the swap shouldn't be too hard.

The main problem with the Minimag is the lack of heatsinking.

The easiest would be to buy a new light. there are good ones at under $20, but most of them take 2 weeks to a month to get to you(Dealextreme a,d Kaidomain, Current gen LEDs).

cfromc

Enlightened
Well, it's a LED swap.