Fenix TK10 "On Duty"

OpticalSerenity

Newly Enlightened
Thanks to 4Sevens and www.fenix-Store.com for getting a TK10 to me early. The Cake is delicious! If you have never dealt with Fenix-Store, you're missing out. They are the by far my favorite source for lights. In fact, if they don't have it, you don't need it. ;)

So on to the review. As some of you know, I'm a metro Atlanta police officer, and I work the night shift. I am on regular patrol, which means I handle calls such as home invasions, home and business alarms, and of course, traffic stops. Obviously a regular stop requires a good flashlight, but a more indepth stop such as a DUI requires a great light for an extended period of time.

So when I found out I was going to be able to get the TK10 prior to launch, I decided to replace my Pelican 7060 LAPD on my belt with the TK10 and use it as my primary light. My Fenix P3D Q5 remained my backup light in my pocket while on duty.

First thing I noticed when I removed the TK10 out of the box was that Fenix had removed the round style of the T1 and made it more jagged. I instantly was in love. This light reminds me a lot of my Surefire M2, which up until it was lost was by far my favorite light body.

2353451899_c493469c37.jpg

Usually when I use the light, I have my Hatch gloves on, so:

2353451043_2e715b4da7.jpg

I modified the nylon holster that came with it from Fenix. I removed the plastic ring, removed the top flap, and removed the velcro on the front. My tip to fenix would be to look at slightly more durable holster designs. Perhaps even a kydex holster setup as an extra option. The open top is integral as it takes too long to access the light otherwise. Plus, many times when I need a flashlight while on duty, I need to be silent. A snap or velcro are out of the question.

2354281730_fe1646a4e3.jpg

Fenix TK10 + Gun:
2354279800_7d1fed16e3.jpg

Utilizing the ring on the TK10:
2353448217_43c60c02ba.jpg

The bottom line: