Surefire 6p and Cree Q5 drop in*PICS*

sbninja

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, I'm new here. Great forum!
I recently bought a Surefire 6p and a Cree Q5 drop-in off of E-bay.
Also, I addressed the gap that occurs with the aftermarket drop-in by just putting a rubber O-ring in the gap.
Here are som pics.

P3210028.jpg

P3210026.jpg

P3290062.jpg

sbninja

Newly Enlightened
Here are some beam shots

Surefire 6p with P60 xenon:
P3210035.jpg

Surefire 6p with Ebay 270 lumen Cree Q5 drop-in:
P3210036.jpg

Outdoor shot - area during daylight:

P3210031.jpg

Ranged at 33 yards:
P3210030.jpg

Surefire 6p with P60 Xenon:
P3220037.jpg

Surefire 6p with Ebay 270 lumen Cree Q5 Drop-in:
P3220039.jpg

Last edited:

LumenMan

Enlightened
I'm new to the tech side of flashlights, so forgive my newbie question.

I have a few Surefire 6P & G2 lights with Q5 & R2 LED lamps. Why can't you just remove the outer spring before installing the lamp? I did this with all of the lights & they work 100%. This eliminates the "gap" issue.

andylondon

Newly Enlightened
Welcome to CPF :wave:

I too have a Surefire 6P with a Q5 drop in from Ebay. I have the Surefire Z59 tail cap and Fenix lanyard on my flashlight and swapped the OP reflector for a SM reflector for a brighter hotspot and greater throw. I have taken off the outer spring, as it works perfectly fine in the 6P, as pointed out this will eliminate the gap.

Out of all the flashlights i own, this is my favourite.

LumenMan

Enlightened
+1 ! I too use my Surefire 6P & G2 with the CREE R2 & Q5 lamps for everything. They are by far my most used lights (although I love my M6 Guardian !) :D

kramer5150

Flashaholic