Help Needed with driver circuit design

viperstd

Newly Enlightened
Hi! My first post! I have spent a while digging around here since I was pretty stuck on how to make my project for a "reasonable" amount of money and I am completely new to electronics.

I programmed a 16F84A to make patterns and everything worked great up to there! However, I want to take the TTL from the PIC and use it to control some much higher load sources. I kept coming back to SSRs since I knew relays from cars, but they were very expensive and big.

1. Take the 5V TTL and put it into a TLP250 optocoupler (Toshiba Photocoupler) ~$1.90

2. Take the 10-15V DC from my power source (aka a car) and send it to an LM317 (national semiconductor adjustable regulator) ~$1.00

3. Use the current regulated out from the LM317 to my load (3 luxeon rebels in series) $5.00x3

Well, maybe a bit more information is needed. The signal coming from the PIC is already PWMing the signal. The end-project that I am working on is for an emergency signaling device for my father's (a firefighter) personal vehicle. Rather than buy a commercial one, I wanted to make him one as a surprise.

I am strobing the individual light segments at varying duty cycles (up to ~45Hz strobe). Additionally, flash patterns mean that any given light is not on for more than .4s at a time.

Am I calculating the power dissipation in R2 correctly?
Assuming that I have 0.689 A to the string of LEDs, and each LED sees a 3.85V drop, that leads to (3*3.85)*(0.689) =~ 7W...

or is the voltage seen by R2 the difference between the supply voltage (10-15V) and the voltage drop on the leds...
@ worst case: ~15.0V-3*3.85V->3.45V*.689A= 2.38W
@ (12V-3*385V)*.689 = .31W

What happens if the auto voltage drops below 11.55V in this case? Does my seen current just drop and I get a graceful fade-out, or will the LM317 crap out?