Low Dome vs. High Dome

Status
Not open for further replies.

PieThatCorner

Enlightened
Well, I've finally mastered the Arc LSx model numbers after thoroughly reading Peter's post on his 2003 Arc catalog.

Now I'm just trying to decide between a Low Dome-Premium or a High Dome-Premium. My assumption is that there's going to be more throw in the High Dome. But I'm a novice to the Arc World, so the following question:

What's the main difference/advantage/disadvantage between the Low Dome and the High Dome?

Thanks in advance...

-Jim

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
If I don't have them mixed up...my particular low dome is whiter/a little on the bluish side (I like it that way!) and is more of a flood type beam.

My particular high dome is still a nice white, but has a tighter hot spot and throws a little better than the low dome.

You're talking premiums, mine are standards. Got the $$, "Get em' both!". Don't have the $$, "Get em' both, but get standards".

Sproing

Newly Enlightened
Like Sigman said, the low dome LS is more of a flood with a bigger bright hotspot. I find the low domes better for close range work because the wider beam puts out more useable light up close. The high domes seem to have a more consistent color throughout the beam while some low domes have a slightly off color (like green or blue) usually at the edges of the beam.

I took some beamshots today because I just received a replacement LSH-P in the mail today. The LSH-P has a really nice Q3J luxeon in it. Here is a side-by-side pic of it beside a premium low dome LS with a Q3H luxeon. I prefer the color on the LSH-P.
Low Dome on the left and high dome on the right
fc69c5a0.jpg

PieThatCorner

Enlightened
Ahhh, now that seems more clear. I, too, like the LED light with a blue tinge, and I prefer it to be more on the "flood" side, as opposed to a tighter spot/more throw.