question on single cell lights

Cmd_Bash

Newly Enlightened
i was looking up what kind of cell would power the seoul p7, and what i found out was that i don't think my current flashlight even has a beefy enough battery to fully power it.

i currently have a flashlight that uses a cree xre q5 and its powered by a single panasonic cr123a; going over the specifications, the the xre needs around 3.7V to drive the led to 1000ma whereas the cr123a only can only produce about 2.8V underload which equates to around 100ma of current on the cree xre data graph.

i have no idea how the built in circut for my flashlight works, since i'm still a little new to this but i don't think there are any built in chips that can raise voltage, so here are my questions
1. is there somthing i'm missing?
2. if not then is there a way to fully power the cree xre q5 with a single cylindral cell? (all the 3.7-3.6v batteries i found only produced about 3.4V under large load)

again sorry if i'm missing somthing here, its just that i may need to build a small seoul p7 flashlight if within the next few months and some of the information i'm gathering isn't adding up

Cmd_Bash

Newly Enlightened
would you be able to source me a site that that has these premade aswell? :grin2:

srry, i new i must have been missing somthing :laughing:

Marduke

Flashaholic
There are 4 ways currently used to power the P7. Direct drive off a single Li-Ion of 18650 size or larger, direct drive off 3 NiMH cells (preferably C or D sized), with this circuit, or with this circuit setup (both with 4 NiMH or 1 Li-Ion).

A common source for circuits is here.

Cmd_Bash

Newly Enlightened
There are 4 ways currently used to power the P7. Direct drive off a single Li-Ion of 18650 size or larger, direct drive off 3 NiMH cells (preferably C or D sized), with this circuit, or with this circuit setup (both with 4 NiMH or 1 Li-Ion).

A common source for circuits is here.