3M Sun Gun

AP2TUDE

Newly Enlightened
I am a professional detailer and I am looking for a light that I can use to spot swirl marks and other paint defects.

There are a few popular models used in the industry. The dual Xenon Brinkmann seems to be very popular. The less price conscious out there simply opt for the 3M Sun Gun.

The Sun Gun is extremely bright, and the bulb is engineered to mimic actual sunlight. Although its original intended purpose wasn't for detailing, more for paint color matching, it is perfect for what I do.

I want to know if there is anything out there that you can recommend that would be similar. Brightness is key. I don't mind rechargable, batteries, etc. It just needs to be bright enough to really highlight the defects.

Right now for my main defect detection, I simply use two 1000W halogens mounted on a tripod. I typically keep them around 5ft from the car, and they are excellent at highlighting problems.

So based on that, anything that you guys can recommend would be awesome. I am sure there is so much out there that the detailing community is missing out on, so enlighten me. HA HA HA.

Thanks a lot.

Jonathan

Tekno_Cowboy

Flashlight Enthusiast
The obvious would be to use what you know will be good, the sun gun. On the other hand, if you halogens work well already, why swap them for something else now?

AP2TUDE

Newly Enlightened
The Sun Gun is typically around $400. So it is fairly pricey.

I know that it is functional for my purpose, but it is expensive primarily because of its color correctness, not its brightness. I am sure that there is another light out there that is similarly bright, albeit without the correct color, for significantly cheaper.