Newbie here looking for Scorpion Xenon -> LED Mods

davedds

Newly Enlightened
Hello to all!!!

I've been reading these forums for about 1 week already and I have already spent about $250 bucks on lights... Ugh!!! I'm hooked

1) SF G2L
2) SF 6PD
3) Markoff M60 dropin
4) TerraLUX 5W Minimag Upgrade/TerraLUX tailcap clicky
5) More to come....

Well this post is for some help in locating some info about the SL Scorpion (Xenon bulb version) which I got about 10 years ago. Its been sitting around because it goes thru 123's like butter. Anyways I've searched all over for some type of LED conversion here and on the net and have not found too much. All I have found is that I can "put a 2.5mm LED" directly into the bipin and drill out the reflector hole a bit to get it to fit. Everytime I do a search I get hits that are about converting the current scorpion LED version with a better "LED" like P4 or Q5 etc... Nothing about converting a Xenon to LED....

Anyways this place it great!!!! I'm hooked!!!!

TIA for any help!!!:wave:

Last edited:

webley445

Flashlight Enthusiast
I got two old scorps I wouldn't mind converting also.
I have seen DIy parts that you can get thru dealextreme.com, but have no idea if any would fit/work

davedds

Newly Enlightened
I got two old scorps I wouldn't mind converting also.
I have seen DIy parts that you can get thru dealextreme.com, but have no idea if any would fit/work

do you have a link to the dealextreme DIY kit, I've looked and can not find anything. BTW this is for the "Streamlight" Scorpion I'm looking for and not anything for the "GP" Scorpion....

TIA

webley445

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes, thats what I said, DIY parts.

I suppose if someone had the proper tools to measure we could see if one of the drop in modules could fit (easiest option?).

That would involve removing the stock reflector?