Basic Dremel/Boring Question

AFAustin

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a 2008 version Inova T1 and T2, and I love them. I have been frustrated, though, by the narrow body tubes. As a dedicated rechargeable guy, I have been wanting to fit a 17670 in them, but even an unprotected one is a bit tight. Actually, one will slide in OK, but getting it out is very difficult.

I picked up a Dremel 10.8v li-ion model on sale recently, but have no prior experience with Dremels. I am wondering if I should try to bore out the body tubes a tad to accomodate the 17670 cells? How difficult is this for a Dremel novice? Would an 8193 wheel grinder do the job? (One came with my kit and it fits nicely inside the Inova tubes): http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00004UDJH/?tag=cpf0b6-20

Any advice would be appreciated.

Frank_Zuccarini

Newly Enlightened
I'm no expert, and ultimately no help, but I think that if using a Dremel it would be nearly impossible to bore out a flashlight body in an incremental, uniform way. This is not a simple operation.

Frank

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would get a close fitting dowel, wrap it in sandpaper (150 grit or so) and do it by hand. If the cell fits already, there's not too much more material to remove.

I don't know if those brake hones will fit. The smallest one is a little bigger than the tube's ID. The brake hone bore is typically suggested for Mags.

I thought the question was pretty interesting. :whistle:

precisionworks

Flashaholic
Boring can be done with a boring bar on a lathe:

lathfg12.gif

It can also be done with a boring head in a mill:

p25_02.jpg

If there isn't too much material to remove, a reamer can be used. The one shown below is adjustable to cover a limited size range:

Adjustable_Hand_Reamers.jpg