which arc aaa do you recommend?

Status
Not open for further replies.

makar

Enlightened
hi,
i'm planning to buy an arc aaa. i'm a little confused which diffrent kinds of arc aaa there are.
i know of a standard and a premium version.

i'm from germany. there is one dealer: toolshop
the price for the standard version is 33 Euro = 36.05910 US Dollar
the premium is 46 Euro = 50.26420 US Dollar
do you think it's a better deal to buy a used one or a new one from the us? if i'm going to buy a used one. of which things should i take care? (i think of diffrent versions or updates and so on)
greetings, marc

PieThatCorner

Enlightened
Hi Makar-

I'm not an Arc expert, but I play one on TV... sorry, humor. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/twak.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/twak.gif

From what I've read on Peter Gransee's posting on his 2003 Arc Catalog, I believe the following applies:

[*] The current Standard Arc AAA has a natural color Hard Anodized finish on the housing. The Nichia LED is R-S flux with a B2-B3 tint.

I just ordered a Standard Arc AAA. So I haven't tried it out yet.

[*] The Premium Arc AAA is pretty much the same as the Standard Arc AAA, from what I've read, but the LED binning is S flux, B1-B2 tint - a brighter/whiter light. It has "Premium Edition" engraved near the bottom of the housing.

[*] There's also the Limited Edition Arc AAA, which I have come to understand is the Premium Edition equivalent, but simply in limited run, hence its name. "Limited Edition" is engraved on the bottom of the housing as well. This LE comes with a hand picked SB1 rank LED. Again, whiter/brighter (Premium Edition quality).

I have the Limited Edition Arc AAA - it's absolutely fantastic and puts out very useful light for such a small package. The Hard Anodized finish is terrific on this LE. It's the reason why I ordered a Standard Arc AAA. I never thought I'd use a AAA backup to a AAA backup. Hmmmm....