TerraLUX strikes out 2x in one night! :(

jeffroalpha700

Newly Enlightened
First off, I've owned several of the TerraLUX products in the past and overall have been pleased with them. I never owned a white TLE-5K2, but I have a red version (accidentally). Overall, I was impressed. Considering the size on the reflector, the emitter produces a very tight beam. The red light is very bright. I never swapped emitters since I was very happy with the red emitter and found numerous uses for it. I also equipped that light with a TCS-1 tail cap switch. I've also been very pleased with the switch. I work in law enforcement, and my guard unit may be deploying later this year (at least it's looking that way), so that light will probably go with me. From what I have read in past threads, many people were unhappy with the K2 white emitter.

Today, I purchased a TLE-5EX in white and another tail cap. I picked up another mini-mag body and installed it. My understanding is that this uses the Cree XRE-7090 emitter. When I first looked at it, I noticed it was much larger than the K2 emitter. I naturally expected a more "floody" beam. When I installed it, I was disappointed in both the beam and the intensity. On TerraLUX's website, they are advertising 140 lumens, although the packaging states 100. It seems dimmer, but I haven't had a chance to get it on the meter yet. I know it is using a cheap mag reflector, and I've done these before, so I'm not expecting a Surefire beam, but it had a HUGE donut hole in the middle. Several years ago, I purchased a Surefire KL6 upgrade head for my M-3 combat light. It had the donut hole and a green tint. I still need to swap it. That donut hole was nowhere near as large as this one. Is this normal, and has anyone else experienced this issue with the TLE-5EX?