Hikers: Can Dogs go Hiking?

zenlunatic

Newly Enlightened
I've only been hiking a few times. The last hike (some time ago), it was a nine-miler on the PA AT. ROCKS! Yes, it was rocks the whole time! Definitly not good for dogs I'd imagine.

I'm seeking advice from seasoned hikers on the possibility of taking a dog hiking. I've got a medium (55lb) dog, just to let you know it's not a little weenie. She is well trained on and off leash. <corny>She is my best friend and companion</corny>. Theres got to be some dog-lovers who understand my sentiments. Out of everyone she would be my first choice to take along, although I'm an amateur and there is no way I'm going to take just her and I, but I've got hiking/caving friends to go with.

So is it a good idea to walk your dog hiking? I imagine I'd be SOL if she got hurt in the middle of nowhere.

Mike Painter

Flashlight Enthusiast
Absolutely, you can find a ton of stuff online that will help you and the dog.
Just take it easy the first few times (both of you), make sure you have water for both of you.

The only real concern is heat. Dogs can't get rid of it as easy as we can.

tygger

Enlightened
A hiking dog is a happy dog. Essentials:

Make sure they don't overheat.

Water and bowl (even for short hikes)

Carry a small FAK. Ace wrap, gauze, sports tape, benadril (if they like to snap at bees), etc.

I've never used them, but for rocky terrain consider dog booties. Make sure they're comfortable wearing them first.

A pair of tweezers and a small pair of scissors can come in handy too for picking off ticks, or removing burs, foxtails, etc.

A whistle

Thats about all I can think of. Have fun.

Last edited:

NeonLights

Flashlight Enthusiast