Ochone! Japanese whisky is voted the best in world ...

RA40

Flashlight Enthusiast
Interesting. I've enjoyed Japanese whiskies and felt that even the younger variants of some distillers was showing the refinement of older aged ones. Congrats to them. :)

flashfan

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hmm, interesting. I've got unopened bottles of whisky(key) that have been lying around the house for a looong time. They're probably no longer any good.

12-year old Suntory "Yamazaki" and 15-year old Karuizawa, plus several bottles of 17-year old Ballantine's and I think a couple of others. IIRC, the Ballantine's has been collecting dust for more than 15 years, which would make it 30-plus years old now...!

What's so good about this stuff?

baterija

Flashlight Enthusiast
So they also must be mixing beer into the whisky

Mmmm boilermakers.:drunk:

Actually when I was a college student I had a prematurely developed taste for good beer. Unfortunately my wallet preferred whatever yellowish, macro-brewed, watery substance called beer was on special. I did some mixing of my own to split the difference. A half shot of the cheap well whiskey added to a so called beer gave a nice little flavor boost.

Pellidon

Flashlight Enthusiast
I will stick with Knob Creek and Buffalo Trace. I never "acquired" the taste for Scotch. Nor anything else one has to acquire a taste for. :nana:

Although I do like some of the names; Pig's Snout, Sheep Dip.

NA8

Flashlight Enthusiast
There was a nice dark beer, Sapporo Black, I used to get at Trader Joe's and Safeway. Haven't seen it around lately.

dudemar

Flashlight Enthusiast
NA8, what part of the country do you live in? I believe I can still pick up Sapporo at my local Lucky. I'm in Northern California, btw.

NA8

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm in Frisco. We've got Sapporo, but not Sapporo Black.

Flash Harry

Newly Enlightened