Single LED vs. Multi LED's

portezbie

Newly Enlightened
I have only recently in the last few months gotten into flashlights, so I am still learning the ropes. It seems to me that a single higher quality led would be better than one of these flashlights that has 8-32 leds, but I've never bought one of them. Does anyone know how single leds compare to these multi led lights?
Also, what are some of the most powerful led flashlights out there right now? I would like another really nice handheld one and a nice pocket or keychain one. I have a new fenix e01 which i really like but i am interested in suggestions.
Lastly, I am looking for a really good led lantern, but there dont seem to be many out there. The best one I have been able to find is the dorcy 3watt with 1 watt spotlight, are there any other good ones anyone could recommend? Thanks

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast
Lantern: Coleman do a decent lantern using cree's for $25 IIRC.

Those 100 LED lights suck big time. Chances are there's no driver baord so the output constantly dims, and even at peak 100 won't be better than 1 decent LED.
As for high ouput, do you mean high output or high throw? For high output, a P7 light would be your best bet, though the beam on these lights would be more of a flood than a spot.

portezbie

Newly Enlightened
Yeah I just saw the p7's and was very interested. I think a wider spread might actually be good for that kind of light since it seems more for outdoor use. I find the claims of 600-900 lumens though a little hard to believe. Yeah i had a feeling those little lights with tons of leds were a scam, thanks. I'm gonna check out those colemans.

IcantC

Enlightened