what flashlight for airline pilot.....?

momonbubu

Newly Enlightened
hai guys.
To make it short, I want to give my airline pilot brother a decent LED torch that he can use in his job.
The flashlight must be low enough to able him to read flight precheck lists and maps but also bright enough for airplane body precheck for night flight.
Prefer AA size battery since 123 is hard to find in remote area. (believe me places that my bro fly to is really really remote area).
I want to keep this under reasonable budget, I am a scholarship student with very very tight budget, so surefire a2 aviator is out of the question, hehe

Any recommendations?

edit: budget will be around US 100-120(150 is the highest) shipped to sydney. (surefire aviator cost less but the shipping to sydney is outrages)

Thanks
Giandi

Last edited:

_Shawn_

Newly Enlightened
16 lumen of white light, would be a little much and kill night vision (IMO).

A pilot needs something that does not destroy night vision. A red light or a red filter would be advisable and it would be even better if it also has a multi mode a low green or low blue for the maps.

A torch will destroy night vision but is sometimes needed for preflight and other tasks and emergency use.

I'm not sure what is out there in one package that will fit his specific needs but consider two lights. A torch for the pocket or flight bag, and a light that can be used for maps and preflight that does not destroy night vision.

-edit: forgot the recommendation-

Take a look at the Fenix L1D and the L2D. They have several mods but easy to go from turbo to low, the two modes that will be used most. Also if you decide to get a Fenix be sure to get a red filter.

Some photon key chain LEDs (red/green/blue) on a neck lanyard is also a good option, but they don't run on AAs. Maybe someone has a better recommendation for some non-white options.

Last edited:

HeadCSO

Enlightened