noob here, a couple q's about modding a Mag 3D

blackdragonx1186

Newly Enlightened
hi guys, awesome forum! ive been trolling around now for a couple months, just never signed up, lol. a buddy of mine who i believe is a member here showed me https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/154668 and it got me hooked. ive never done much modding to lights, as ive mostly been too lazy to do so. anyways, ive a few questions. i want to mod my maglight. i have a 3 D cell model, with the 3w led. bright for the price, as im sure most of you have seen them, but i want more. i found this http://www.luxeonstar.com/item.php?id=5652&link_str=178::1425&partno=TLE-300M and want to try it out. ive bought their small 1w bulb for my minimag, and its decently bright. anywho, i want to build a battery pack for it. i found these http://www.batteryspace.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=3294 i want to use 3 of those. do you think it will work ok? my other question is the reflectors on the leds look quite small. do you think there are external ones that attach to it? thanks for the help!

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Re: noob here, have a couple q's

You might want to look at this thread for a good list of most of the Maglite drop-ins.

As for the TL300, you can fit 4 C batteries in a 3D, so that might be easier then using the Li-Po batteries.

The TL-300 uses optics and not reflectors. There are no replacement ones that I know of. The beam pattern that I've see for the drop-in seems a bit odd.

Which drop-in did you buy for the minimag? Was is this one?

If yes, you can double the output for the same runtime by swapping in a current gen LED.

:welcome:

blackdragonx1186

Newly Enlightened

You might want to look at this thread for a good list of most of the Maglite drop-ins.

As for the TL300, you can fit 4 C batteries in a 3D, so that might be easier then using the Li-Po batteries.