Totally OT, but...

pedalinbob

Flashlight Enthusiast
i replaced the chain/cable on my garage door opener about 6 weeks ago. it was set up incorrectly by the prior homeowner, and it rapidly became damaged.
it was expensive--about $50!

i was wondering what to use to lube the chain with, if at all. i have a wide variety of greases and oils. the chain already has a very light coat of lube on it.

boring question, i know, but i dont want the chain to wear out and break anytime soon (i have already carefully tensioned and aligned the chain, and checked/lubed the pulleys/bearings, so that part is done...but i cannot seem to find any info about chain lube).

the irony is that i am an ex certified master mechanic--and clueless!

any ideas?

Bob

snuffy

Enlightened
It's a low stress application. Any kind of light oil will do. Even 3 in 1. I wouldn't use WD-40 because it doesn't last as a lube.

Tombeis

Enlightened
Good question.

So, I asked my son in law who is a Certified Harley-Davidson mechanic. ( Chain drives on some motorcycles.)

He recommends a product called "Chain Wax" chain and cable lube.

The can says:"fling resistant special parafin base, O-Ring chain safe.

Although they recommend preheating the chain, he said on your application just spray it on, and wait ten minutes for it to dry before using the chain.

Buy it at motorcycle shops. About $8.00 a can.

PieThatCorner

Enlightened
I use Super Slick - Slick Stuff from Certec. It's great for the garage door tracks, chain drive, and other miscellaneous hardware lubrication needs. But it sells for about $10-$12 a can.

-Jim

BTW, I like the motorcycle chain lubricant idea - think I'll give a can of that a shot as well.

V8TOYTRUCK

Flashlight Enthusiast
My father owns a garage door company, Let me see if I can find Stanley provided chain lube. I will ship it out to you if I find it. BTW, If anyone with rolling code technology door opener needs a keypad. I have a bunch of them.

Moat

Enlightened