High Speed Flasher Into Maglite with additional LEDs

luminator10

Newly Enlightened
I work in law enforcement, and we often have to flag down other emergency vehicles. In the last two weeks I have had two fire trucks miss my light signal all together, which delayed their response time by about 1 minute in both instances.

Has anyone seen a way to place high intensity LEDs into a maglite, something like a red and blue lights that could flash at a high rate (4 times per second). I still want to leave the existing bulb in place.

I currently use a 4D maglite, and I would like to stick with it.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Would 10 hz white strobe be too much?

I haven't seen any flashling red/blue drop-in/modules for the maglite.

:welcome:

luminator10

Newly Enlightened
I think the strobe could be a little over-powering.

Ideally if I could have a secondary light(such as an bright led flasher), with a separte switch all in the same housing, it would be awesome.

StarHalo

Flashaholic
Okay, my Flash-Cap finally arrived today, first impressions; It's actually pretty bright. The business end is essentially six LEDs in a ring, three that point straight out and three within the clear reddish casing that point somewhat outwards at an angle. It's plenty for navigating around indoors with dark-adjusted eyes, and perhaps to some extent even outdoors, as the three straight-out LEDs actually do throw a bit of a beam, comparable in throw to a decent keychain light.

The whole package adds an inch to the length of the Mag, and is its own completely separate circuit powered by four button cells with a very solid/quality feeling center switch. The cabbage-red transparent casing makes for quite the showpiece, displaying the LEDs and IC board/chips within. All of which is mounted atop a remarkably heavy-gauge flat black anodized aluminum cap (it's a single piece of machined aluminum; the endcap that the LED assembly sits on is roughly 5mm thick!)