Newbie on a budget looking to buy a flashlight

scorcher75

Newly Enlightened
Hi,
I am new to the flashlight world, but I always had a liking for flashlights and stuff like pocket knives and binoculars.
I am interested in getting myself a LED flashlight for basic use. I have browsed through the forum and have a general idea of what's out there and the pricings.
I am on a budget so to speak and could not afford to spend more than $25 on the flashlight.
I noticed that the Fenix E0/1 is a very good flashlight for the price. However, I do not necessarily wish to buy such a small flashlight and would like to get better luminance and have more area illuminated than the Fenix E0/1.
Can anyone please suggest other good flashlights that would suit my preferences? Basically, I'm looking for the best bang for the buck, but unlike the Fenix E0/1, I am more interested in a normal size (pocket as opposed to keychain) flashlight that can illuminate a decent area as compared to most flashlights in its range and can be bright. I hope it is out there.. :eek:

Would really value your replies!

Misterbean

Newly Enlightened
i would suggest looking at the budget lights sticky at the top of this forum. alot of those lights are from Dealextreme.com and can be had for under 20$. pick one that has good reviews on the website and that is listed as good in that thread and you'll be alright i think.

matt0

Enlightened
Don't forget to factor in battery costs. Depending on battery type, it can be expensive to 'refuel'... especally if it sees a lot of use.

LED_astray

Newly Enlightened
I'm not sure what you mean by general use, or even what you really mean by pocket. More specifics, comments about what you have or have used, etc. would help.