Just picked up a Surefire 6PL..first impressions

Hofgrad01

Newly Enlightened
Well, I am not an expert on flashlights but here is my initial impressions of the 6PL. My other flashlight is a G2 Incan so I compared the two. Keep in mind that this is not scientific, just my initial observation with the two lights

Overall, the 6PL's light has a bluish-white tint to it and the output beam has a slightly different oval shape compared the the G2's beam.

Inside, the 6PL seems bright and very similar to the output of the G2. The bluish tint of the 6PL alters some details of items in the room. For example, colors of items in the room appear less vibrant with their reflections being more dull than the G2; The same items lit up by the G2 appear vibrant.

Outside, the 6PL seems to illuminate distant objects a little less than the G2. I guess this would be described as having less throw. I compared the two lights by aiming them at a neighbors house which is two houses away and also by shining the light high up onto leaves on a very tall tree. Overall, when compared to the G2, the 6PL appeared more dim when shining on distant objects.

I am a little disappointed with the 6PL's performance relative to its price. Its not a bad light (I love the build quality of Surefires) but I think the G2L would pretty much perform the same as the 6PL for about about $20 less. I really want the runtime of an LED light so I might return the 6PL, save some bucks and pick up the G2L.

Last edited:

Marduke

Flashaholic
Keep in mind that the 6PL and G2L use the exact same lamp, so your experience with a G2L will most likely be the same (allowing for individual LED variation).

cyberpunk

Newly Enlightened