Portable LED desk lamp

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi there!

These days I'm studying very hard for the upcoming exams (the next 3 weeks). I sometimes love to study during the night, especially when it's very hot during the day. Then the temperatures are better during the night, it's very silent, yet very dark. A few days ago I was playing with a Maglite and started to think about making a portable LED desk lamp to take with me while studying in the garden during the night. 2 hours later a new baby was born, shining bright in the darkness :)

Portable LED desk lamp :
  • portable : take it anywhere and it will stand on every flat surface
  • flexible : the locline stalk is flexible so you can aim the light in any direction you want
  • based on 2 Maglite 2D flashlights
  • featuring 4 Cree XR-E warm white LEDs, high efficiency and nice warm white color
  • 2 switches on the head : one to switch on/off and another to switch between low and high mode
  • running on 9 AA batteries, preferably NiMH but alkalines work fine as well
  • high-efficiency driver circuit with constant current output of 380 mA to each LED
  • custom heatsink to improve heat dissipation from the LEDs
  • glass lens
  • 2 modes : high (4 LEDs) and low (2 LEDs)
  • brightness : estimated 360 lumen on high, 180 lumen on low
  • long runtime : full output for 4* hours (high mode) or 8* hour (low mode), many more hours of decreased output (* = based on 2000 mAh NiMH AA)

Now some pictures! All pictures are clickable to see the full size image.

The portable LED desk lamp :

Comparison of beamshots (note : all shots were taken at the same manual setting on the digital camera) :