First Time Poster: Need help finding the right led flashlight!!

xmarkx88

Newly Enlightened
I really want to thank everyone for making this forum a very informative place where complete newbs can learn a thing or two about flashlights. Let me start off by saying i have always been a flashlightaholic... when i was about 13 i purchased a brookstone led flashlight for $50 because it was the most powerful thing that i could find(I was too young to realize the world of internet shopping). That was roughly 7 years ago and it had something along the lines of 30-50 lumens which was pretty good for that time period i believe.

Currently i own Romisen rc-g2 (p2- single AA) and rc-f4(p4- 2 x cr123a).... being away from the flashlight scene for around 6 years now, it is needless to say that i was blown away by the RC-F4.... purchased because of bessiebennie's great reviews. thanks

I am now in the market for a new light that will keep me amused until the cree mc-e leds hit the market.

I am looking to spend under $40 and i am hoping to get the best bang for the buck.

-Battery life is not of a big issue to me because i do not plan on using the light for long periods of time(if i do, i will just keep a few extra cells in my pocket)

-I also want a light that can is overall pretty small... around the length of the maglite 2 x AA or shorter, without an overly excessive large head.

-the ability to use cr123a would be a huge plus for me being that i have several primaries and rechargeables, but i will jump into the 18640 crowd if necessary

-I dont necessarily need a super-long thrower but having more throw than my rc-f4 would be nice.

-Must be bright as a mofo

Currently the lights that i am considering are:

1. Eastwardyj XAQ5
spectacular performance for the price based on bessiebennies review

2. Eastwardyj 18WD
recommendation based on bessiebennies reviews
has HA-III and could possibly accept cr123a and rcr123a based on eastwards website(anyone know?)