Bootleg flashlights?

Ecko

Newly Enlightened
I've seen some posts floating around here lately about fake lights. I'm new to this hobby so I was just wondering, are there really fake flashlights being made. I know about cheaper imitations of name brand lights but are there really people making bootlegs?

I just find it strange if there are because high end flashlights are not the most sought after items and would make a horrible turn around for profits imo. Bootlegs are usually aimed towards the masses and not little niche communities like this.

So what do you guys think and have any of you actually come across a real bootleg light?

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
In answer to your question, no, I haven't. Here's some idle speculation though.

I don't think flashlight bootlegs are targeted toward specific models, like handbags are for instance. I think they are more of an opportunity market where lots of parts left over from usually Asian production of more well known lights float around as leftovers and late night runs.

Someone collects a set which he can Lego together and sells them. The body may be from one of the original OEMs, the innards maybe too, or maybe not. Depending on the ethics of the assembler, the product is sold generically or as a bona fide; and it is up to the buyer - and testers here on CPF - to figure out what it really is.

I've personally heard of few SF counterfeits (although it has happened) because there are no SFs made in Asia and hence, no source of spare bodies available cheap (i.e. snuck off the OEM assembly line...). So the counterfeit targets are mostly lights already made in Asia. I'm guessing Fenix works hard to protect their supply line from "excess" production.

Just musing, no supporting evidence available...

xcel730

Flashlight Enthusiast
Ecko,

:welcome: