How much is enough?

rmorgan84

Newly Enlightened
I am debating between the M60 & the M60L to go in a 9P. Now, i think well 235 lumens would be great but then 140 is hardly dim and the extra battery life would be a big bonus.

So in your opinion how many lumens is enough?

I am a UK cop so will be using if for duty, but for comparison/perspective the standard issue torch over here is a 2 x C-celll maglite.

Last edited:

climberkid

Flashlight Enthusiast
235 235!!!! :party: i love lumens. you can always get more batteries. i figure since you are a LEO more lumens would be great. but yeah battery life is nice. dangit now i cant decide............i like lumens though

Yoda4561

Flashlight Enthusiast
The M60L will make the 2 cell mag look like a birthday candle. I'm willing to sacrifice runtime for output on my EDC, since with normal use I only have to change batteries every week or two at the most(with an M60 at less than 2 hours of runtime). If you use the light for an hour or more every day that adds up quick, so I'd go for the M60L. If you only use it for 10 minutes a day though I'd spring for the M60.

rmorgan84

Newly Enlightened
The M60L will make the 2 cell mag look like a birthday candle. I'm willing to sacrifice runtime for output on my EDC, since with normal use I only have to change batteries every week or two at the most(with an M60 at less than 2 hours of runtime). If you use the light for an hour or more every day that adds up quick, so I'd go for the M60L. If you only use it for 10 minutes a day though I'd spring for the M60.

It varies, sometimes i will be using it for hours, if searching for someone/something. On other shifts it will be used for only a few minutes.

But as said considering most cops survive with only a stock c cell mag i think the m60L will be more than enough!

Gunner12

Flashaholic
The M60L should be a happy medium, you can probably also carry a similar light as a back up/show off light if you want.

Zenster

Enlightened