Go-kart lights

lazerboy2000

Newly Enlightened
I have a go-kart that I built from a kit and I'd like to get some lights on it and mount on the roll cage. I would need something that either has its own rechargable power supply (preferred method), or something that could be connected to a small vehicle battery. The bars on the roll cage are tubular and about 1.5-2" diameter.

What would you recommend and how much is this going to break the bank?
Also please note that I am a total newbie to lighting so something simple would be awesome.

Last edited:

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
A few of these would work. Just make sure they get mounted to something metal and get a clear cover over the reflectors. They'll run off of your go-kart's battery, or anything else between 3V and 18V. Center spring is +, everywhere else metal is -.

climberkid

Flashlight Enthusiast
:welcome: and i always wanted to build one...how much did the kit cost u? and good luck with finding lights. you are in the right place!

lazerboy2000

Newly Enlightened
LukeA,
Could you please describe a bit more on how I could mount these lights and what sort of housing I could use for it. Is it something that I could just directly connect to a battery or do I need any special wiring or parts. Like I said, I'm a n00b so details would be of a big help. Also, how many of these do you think I'd need to safely see while driving 30mph?

I got one of these kits with an 8 HP engine. Runs about 30-35 mph
http://www.ubuilditplans.com/NEWUBUILDITKITS.HTML

Overall took about 3 years to build but thats because I was busy with school and other activities. The actual work only took a few weekends. Lots of welding!

Last edited:

kramer5150

Flashaholic
Curious... Is a flashlight based setup even the optimal choice? At those speeds is the stopping distance of the cart within the throw range of your typical CPFer torch? You might have better luck searching for answers in the transportation lighting sub-forum.

climberkid