Does doubling 18650's get me brighter light or just longer runtime?

djans1397

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd like to make a thrower that's not EDC and was thinking about the above. I'm still new to this, but seems to be that I can only increase my runtime and NOT my brightness. Is this correct?

What do you guys recommend for a base to start with if I want to run 2 18650's and create a big head thower? Also, does the same aply to an Ican. light?

Thanks for your help,
Dan

Last edited:

allburger

Enlightened
Re: Does doubling 18650's get me brighter light or just longer runitime?

If you are dealing with LED's, 2 18650's will only increase runtime. The reason is that no matter what the input voltage, all that the LED wants is ~3.6 volts. That is what is called forward voltage. An 18650 is 4.2v off the charger and 3.6v nominal. When you run an LED, you want to run a regulator board in there most of the time which will either boost your current to 3.6v or in your case with 2 18650's cut the voltage to 3.6v.

With incan's the higher the voltage, the higher the wattage that can be allowed.

I just built a thrower as you described. I used a 2C mag with 2 18650's in there. I put a ssc p4 onto a fenix-store heatsink with a dealextreme driver that is set up to accept at least 8.4v.

I think the maglite is an excellent choice for a mod flashlight. I love them because everyone knows them and they are timeless. On top of that, aftermarket upgrades are easy to acquire whether it is an aluminum reflector, heat sink, glass lens, or whatever.

Last edited:

djans1397

Flashlight Enthusiast