Boring out a SF M4 tube for 18650's ?

djans1397

Flashlight Enthusiast
I want to buy a Sure Fire M4 and have it bored out to run 2 x 18650's. I also plan to put a Lumens Factory EO-M3T (9V, 450 Lumens) Extreme High Output Lamp Assembly in it for an extremely bright thrower.

Is this even feasbile? Can it be bored out for the 18650's? Will these batteries be enough to get maximum output (at 7.2 volts) for this lamp?

This is my first build and I want to do it right before I buy all the parts. Any advice is appreciated.:thumbsup:

Thanks in advance,
Dan

tekguy

Newly Enlightened
probably not the walls are not thick enough.. check out light hound for leaf bodies that are made to take 18650's with the m series threads.

Lunal_Tic

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've had some Surefires bored but not the M4. C2/C3 and a couple others I don't remember right now. The problem mentioned by those that did the work was that the o-ring grooves at the tailcap make the final product weaker there because of the decreased thickness. So far I've had no problems even with a C3 and a one cell extension but then I've not been that hard on the light. I don't really crank down on the extension just to be sure though.

-LT

adamlau

Flashlight Enthusiast
The walls are easily thick enough for boring, it is true that the threads and O-ring area will require some attention (keep both areas well lubricated). Bored SureFire has many advantages over the LeefBody, of which I am too lazy to go into detail. Suffice to say that a bored M4 was used for the following beamshot sessions:

Beamshots: MN16 vs. MN21 vs. MN61
Beamshots: MN61 vs. 1185 vs. 5761
Beamshots: 1111 vs. MN21 vs. MN61 vs. 1185